Let me explain…

Well, it happened. I fought hard. I begged. I denied. I yelled. I even cried. Nevertheless, classes at Wingate resumed this past Wednesday. I hope you guys will forgive me for my lack of posting. I’m still getting acquainted with my new schedule. I also coach high school softball at CATA in North Carolina. The season is about to begin. We’re having pre-season workouts now and tryouts start on February 16th. I’m excited for this softball season, we retained all our girls from last year (no seniors last year thank goodness) and we have a new class of freshman that look promising. SUPER EXCITED! We’ve gone to states two years in a row now. This will be my third year coaching at CATA, so I hope to make it three years in a row. I swear, starting today… I post regularly. I know I’ve promised that quite a few times now, but I’m serious this time. It’s my new years resolution.

 

Let’s get down to baseball… I suppose a congratulations is in order for former Yankee, Rickey Henderson. I know Rickey was a character. He was a five tool kind of guy. He could beat you in all aspects of the game. Sadly, he was a bit before my time. He played until 2003, but at that point he was a mire shadow of his former self. OK, he was still better than the majority, but he was either on a west coast team or a team (Boston) that I loathed. All I have to go by on Rickey is the stories my parents have shared with me, the stories Bern shared on air last night, and what ESPN classic and MLB Network tell me. I hate that I was unable to really form my own opinion on the guy. I know he was the Babe Ruth of base running, but again, that’s what someone’s told me and I’ve seen in a small sampling. Either way, the guy was elected into the HOF. A congratulations is in order… So, CONGRATS Rickey!


Henderson_Rickey.jpg 

 


 Final Whisper:
I’m very envious of those who have Rickey Henderson stories. Why couldn’t I have been born in the 70s or 60s? Everything great transpired in the 70s… Rickey Henderson, The Doors, Journey, Pat Benatar, and for a short time Jimi Hendrix and Janis Joplin.

 

Baseball Nerdish as Always,

BRIT

4 comments

  1. Jane Heller

    LOL that you wish you’d been born earlier, Brit. Sure, you missed a few decades. But that’s what the History Channel is for! Good luck with your coaching. I don’t know how you manage to juggle all the things you do.

    http://janeheller.mlblogs.com

  2. rockymountainway

    Jane has it right. That’s a lot of things you are juggling. I got a chance to leave your show on and listen to you and your co-host. That’s cool you have the drive to create that and best of luck in getting listenership and more wins as a coach and best of blogging!
    tom
    http://rockymountainway.mlblogs.com

Leave a Reply

